MESA is governed and guided by the MESA Advisory Council (MAC). The MAC is constituted of selected expert leaders in their respective sectors, committed to MESA mission of advancing science and its translation towards the long-terms vision of a malaria free world. They serve on the MAC in their individual capacity, and can come from a range of partner and relevant organizations and sectors, including academia, funding organization / agency, civil society, industry, programme implementer, and other private entities including faith-based organization, advocacy and philanthropy. The current membership is listed below.


Main Institutional Affiliation

Regina Rabinovich (Chair)

Barcelona Institute of Global Health (ISGlobal), Harvard University

Abigail Pratt

Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF)

David Schellenberg

WHO Global Malaria Programme (WHO/GMP)

Lee Hall

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Dyann Wirth

Harvard University

Marcel Tanner

Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (Swiss TPH)

Jetsummon Prachumsri

Mahidol University

Rick Steketee

President’s Malaria Initiative (PMI)

Arantxa Roca-Feltrer

Malaria Consortium

Jim Jones

ExxonMobil Foundation

Yacine Djibou

Speak Up Africa

Rose Leke

Multilateral Initiative on Malaria (MIM) Society

Abdoulaye Djimde

University of Bamako

Valentina Buj

UN International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF)